About Us

Doctor in the House is a small team of dedicated doctors, technologists and communications experts. We are looking for more people to join us – email us on loading...

Management team

Dr. DJ Hamblin-Brown


DJ is a member of the Royal College of Emergency Medicine and has worked for many years at consultant level in Emergency Medicine within the UK NHS.

He is also the Vice President for Medical Affairs at UFH – a 7-hospital system in China.

He has spent time outside medicine both in leadership development and in Information Technology roles. He believes that patient care and patient safety can be enhanced though the judicious use of technology.

He the founder of Careful Systems, which produces the Careful Platform (www.careful.online)

David Bond

Communications Director

David is a strategic communications consultant who works at board level with international corporations and who also spends time working with authors and literary agents to bring their stories to a wider audience.

He is the founder of Greenlions  and is an award winning documentary maker

Simon Shearston

Chief Technology Officer

Simon has a long and varied history in the computer software business. He has worked at BP, Apple, Booz Allen and Microsoft as an IT architect and systems designer. He is a skilled IT designer solutions developer and IT manager. He is particularly motivated to harness IT for public benefit.

Advisory board

Sue Smith

Sue has had a variety of senior leadership roles managing complex and independent acute care hospitals in Central London including 11 years as the CEO of the Portland Hospital for Women and Children and 14 years as the CEO of the Princess Grace Hospital.

She works with a number of organisations assisting in operational oversight, including as Board Chair of the Evewell, a fully integrated centre of medical excellence in fertility and gynaecological health. She is a Non-Executive Director for Clinuvel, a listed biopharmaceutical company on the Australian Stock Exchange.

Des Shiels

Des Shiels is Chairman of One Healthcare Partners.  He is also a board member of the IHPN Strategic Council, as well as being a non-executive Director of ISCAS (Independent Sector Complaints Adjudication Sector).

Des previously served as Chief Executive of Aspen Healthcare for 13 years, retiring in December 2018.

Prior to joining Aspen, Des was Director of Finance for the UK division of HCA from 1993 to 2001.  Previously, he worked for EY in Dublin and is a qualified Chartered Accountant.

Jenny Davidson (Governance and Midwifery representative)

Jenny's experience combines senior leadership roles both in clinical practice as a midwifery leader and clinical governance. She has also worked across both the NHS and private sectors; she is currently Director of Governance, King Edward VII's Hospital, London having previous been Associate Director of Quality, Governance and Patient Safety at Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust.

Her skills span clinical research, change management, patient safety, CQC regulatory compliance and clinical governance. She is a CQC Registered Manager and qualified Data Protection Officer.

Tim Cooper

Tim is a long-standing senior leader within the UK National Health Service with particularly focus on quality of care. He is currently Director of the NHS Quality Review Service and previously Head of Hospital Inspection for the Care Quality Commission.

A radiographer by training, he was Associate Director and National Lead for Radiotherapy with the National Cancer Action Team.

He is a trustee of the Lingen Davies Cancer Fund. Tim is a standing member of the NICE Quality Standards Advisory Committee and also the Indicator Advisory Committee.

Ben Watcyn-Jones (Dental representative)

Ben qualified from Kings College in 2002, the son of a dentist having wanted to be a dentist from the age of 14. He has worked in both private and NHS practice and has an interest in endodontics, adult orthodontics and non- surgical facial aesthetics. Ben has worked for Doctor in the House since its inception and has been instrumental in creating a dental service for our patients.

Dipak Vaidya (Pharmacy representative)

Dipak has a 20 year history as a pharmacist and senior pharmacy leader. He is currently Group Chief Pharmacist at Aspen Healthcare and is Co Chair of the UK Independent Chief Pharmacist Network


Julia Craggs

Julia is a 3rd year medical student at the University of Bristol where she is Welfare Director at the Medical Society. She has a strong interest in telemedicine and believes it will revolutionise and improve patient care. She works to support our Doctor in the House volunteer clinicians, ensuring they give the best care online.

Charlie Pitcairn

Charlie is a 4th year medical student at Imperial College London, currently pursuing his intercalated BSc in Global Health Policy. With an international background, he supports Doctor in the House with health programme design, fundraising and engaging with non-profit organisations in the health sector. He also has a keen research interest in healthcare innovation and public health policy.